How to view and erase your Facebook history

How to view and erase your Facebook history

We all know that Facebook is a great place where you can socialize with your friends, meet new ones, find information about various events or even promote your business. However, each time you search for something on this website, the information is stored into Facebook's database to deliver more personalized ads. If you don't want your personal information to be stored and passed on by Facebook, you can easily delete it.

The first thing you will need to do in order to start deleting your Facebook search history is to go to the Facebook website, log into your account and click on the "Activity Log" option.

Activity LogActivity Log

Once you have done that, you will be redirected to Facebook's activity page, where you can view (and modify) your entire activity such as pages or posts you liked, shared events and messages, replies and more. To access the search history section, click on the "More" button (as you can see in the image below).

MoreMore

You will notice that the menu will expand and you will be able to view the "Search" option in the extended list. Click on it.

Search History PageSearch History Page

From the search history page, you can either individually choose which search queries to delete (remove them from the timeline) by clicking on a small "restricted" button next to them, or you can select to clean your entire search history by clicking on the "Clear Searches" link, located on the top right side of the page.

Clear Search HistoryClear Search History

As you can see, the entire process of erasing your Facebook history is quite simple and it only takes a couple of seconds, unless you want to individually delete each of your entries. You might also want to know that there are other ways that can help you keep your personal information and searches away from Facebook. You can make your browser go into "private browsing mode" or you can use various browser extensions such as Facebook Activity Remover (for Chrome) or Facebook Activity Remover (for Firefox). However, I recommend manually deleting your history instead of using automated tools, because this is the only way to make sure your entire history is removed and no traces were left behind.

If you are any questions or suggestions regarding the issue , feel free to leave us a message in the comment section below.


Comments on How to view and erase your Facebook history

S
Souleymane Ndiaye 3 years ago

Thank you, you are doing a very good job.

Reply Was it helpful? yes | no (+1)